Exorcists (Warhammer 40,000 – Space Marines) 2008

After completing my small Ultramarines army and my much larger Black Templar successor force, The Sons of Vergus, you think I would have become sick of Space Marines.

Not so! The Emperor’s Finest were the soldiers that introduced me to the world of Warhammer 40,000 and to the grimdark of miniature hobby in general. With the release of Assault on Black Reach, I managed to lay my hands on another wave of marine reinforcements. At that time though, I felt like branching out from my black and red force… by painting a red and black force.

The Exorcists proved an interesting chapter to me. They were gritty daemon hunters, resplendent in blood-red instead of holy silver. Though my painting skills at the time were no where near good enough to get such a bright red to look really great, the process of building and painting this small army taught me a lot about highlighting and shading that I then applied to later Sons of Vergus.

In the same Assault on Black Reach box I also recieved a number of Orkz, which became a sort of side project for a while. These Snakebite Orkz allowed me to practice shades of green and brown, and work with textures that you just don’t find on Space Marines. I think this early branching out definitely helped improve my general painting skills.

Sadly, not many of these original Snakebite Boyz exist. Now they’re stuffed away in a to-do box, to be stripped and repainted later into more Nuka Troopers (more on that army to come!)

But those that did survive (at least in storage) are the mighty and mysterious Exorcists of Commander Panthius.


img_0868
Commander Panthius’ Exorcist Strike Force
Leave a Reply

