The Dragon Keepers (Warhammer Fantasy Battle/Age of Sigmar – High Elves) 2013

The Dragon Keepers were a practice in speed painting, and I think the results sort of, well… they show a bit.

Basically, I had the Island of Blood set sitting in my closet and needed a break from my then-current project: The Flesh-Eaters of Krüll. The complete opposite of my dark, blue and purple daemon-vikings would, naturally, be glittering, gold and red elves.

The Dragon Keeps were members of an elite sect within the Realm of Caledor. The Keepers believed that Elf and Dragon are one, and that the power of the great drakes runs through the veins of every son and daughter of Ulthuan.

untitled

Though I can’t say I’m particularly happy with the finished models, I did have a lot of fun forcing myself to get them painted as quickly as possible. If memory serves, it only took me a couple of weeks of painting on-and-off to get ’em done. If I every played tournament games, I’m sure I’d have a good chance of getting a new army painted quickly.

I was also reading The Silmarillion at this point, so there’s a lot of elfish-nods to Tolkien in the force, such as the Mounted Prince, Turin, The Black Blade.

Save

Leave a Reply

