Da Nuka Trooperz (Warhammer 40,000 Kill Team – Orks) 2014

demolition_expert

I’m a die hard Fallout fan. There’s something about the ridiculous retro-futuristic vibe, coupled with the barely-contained anarchy of the post-post-apocalypse, that really gets the gears in my spider-web encrusted brain turning. At some point, I really had to add some of these elements to a miniature project… Enter, Da Nuka Trooperz.

When Kill Team, that is: small games of Warhammer 40,000 played with only a squad or two of individual models, started to grow in popularity around 2014, I had to jump on the bandwagon… and what better army to do so with than the Orks! They’ll loot the bandwagon, paint it red and blast out across the universe in a wave of green fury. Love it.

I had a rather big collection of Boys and Nobz from my early days of Warhammering (for anyone not familiar with the 40k universe, Boyz are the lower class of Ork, while Nobz, or Nobles, are bigger, meaner, greener, and rule over the others). My first Orks were painted, rather thickly, in a bizarre mix of Snakebite and Goff colours (imagine hardline military creatures with black and white checks, combined with furs and tribal totems). I’ve still got a good number of them in boxes somewhere but, like my ill-fated Dwarfs and very first Ultramarines, they will never see the light of day if I can help it.

But anyway, I had a few bodies to work with, so to speak. I bought a box of Nobz, stripped my Warboss and reconverted a couple of Boyz and so Da Nuka Trooperz were born!

IMG_0801.JPG
Waaagh! Da Nuka Trooperz

As I’m sure you’ll know by now, if you’ve been following my uploads, I like to work in small scale armies, block by block rather than army by army. Kill Team provides the perfect platform for that. My Orks were rather successful in their first few games, and I became super fond of them because of their pluck.

Their style is, of course, based on the Fallout universe, mostly from the third game which (to the pain of a lot of hardcore gamers) is actually one of my favourite games of all time. I have a little picture of Vault Boy on the Deffkopta, Galaxy News Radio themed banners and even “Amurikkun” flags and cola signs everywhere. I absolutely adore this theme, and will definitely continue and expand it when I get round to painting more Orks… I’ll probably move away from now-overused yellow, though.

After a while, I bought a few more boxes (namely the then new Flash Gitz and MegaNobz) but have yet to get around to painting them. Some day though, I’m sure, Da Nuka Trooperz will get suitable reinforcements.


This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Kurnull Hazmat Ardgutz is the leader of my small warband. Though I can’t use him in any official Kill Team games because of his HQ role, I painted Hazmat up before anything else, for fun, and to test out the colour scheme. Now, Hazmat sits pride and place as one of my favourite miniatures in my whole collection.

Boss of Da Pit’s brutal “Uppa Klass”. Hazmat loves nothin’ more than lordin’ it over all his slaves and machinery, laughin’ as gretchin and boy alike get stuck in gigantic gears, open furnaces or mining equipment. Of course, like any Warboss, Da Kolonel also loves gettin’ stuck in, especially when leading raiding parties outside Da Burg, the Space Hulk home of the clan.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

When da bosses need someone to smack heads and restore the chaotic order of Da Pit, they call Da Bullies. Being strong enough to avoid being effected by the intense radiation of the Hulk they live on means they will continue to rule unchallenged until their violent deaths.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Painted as part of a 2015 Paint Club session at Games Workshop: Adelaide, Kutta is the latest addition to the army. His different skin tone marks him out as the next generation of my Orks.

Despite the huge slave population of Da Pit there is still a degree of maintenance needed to keep things running smoothly and tech coming up to the surface… on both the machines and the workers. Painboyz are highly valued in such a dangerous environment as Da Burg, and none is more valued than Kutta, most trusted Painboy of Kolonel Hazmat Ardgutz.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Examples of the brutal machinery employed by Da Nuka Trooperz to both raid and subjugate the slaves of Da Pit. None can escape the eye of The Hurty Burdz, none can escape the flames (or dangerously loud radio broadcasts) of Da Boomboxes.

img_0799

The main fighting force of Da Nuka Trooperz is a collection of seasoned boyz, ex-slaves, gladiators and looterz from clans all over the galaxy. The majority of Da Nuka Trooperz are taken from The Bad Moons and Blood Axe clans, likely explaining the odd behavior and lifestyle of Da Trooperz. Of course, a constant supply of new recruits is needed to work Da Pit and attack any planet stupid enough to orbit close to the Hulk, but there is no shortage of them to be found wherever Da Burg drifts.

Save

One thought on “Da Nuka Trooperz (Warhammer 40,000 Kill Team – Orks) 2014

  1. Pingback: Salamanders I (Horus Heresy – Legio Astartes) 2016 – Illuminator

Leave a Reply

