Canoness Veridyan (Warhammer 40k – Sisters of Battle) 2017

Games Workshop may have made some mistakes in the past, but releasing this kit was not one of them. In a line of “re-masters” that I (and I’m sure many other lovers of the Oldhammer) am gobbling up to the pain of my wallet, GW has hit true form again. It’s great to see them coming out with more “painter’s pieces” than simply churning out more gaming pieces.

Canoness Veridyan is one of my favourite kits to come out of Nottingham in years. Based on a beloved John Blanche artwork, this miniature captures everything Warhammer 40k should be: gothic, over-the-top, grimdark, a bit silly.

I decided to paint my model, against my first instinct, to match the original artwork. Working from the box art also allowed me to practice Non-Metallic Metal painting for the first time (tutorial will probably come on this, but I’m still learning myself, so… we’ll see!) I enjoyed taking it super slow, painting one limb at a time and lavishing attention on the detail and precise shading. While I’m not exactly happy with some parts of the finished product, in total, I think I’m going to go out there and say it’s probably one of the best paintjobs I’ve done!

But there’s no sense resting on laurels. This miniature actually opened my eyes to the possibilities of improving. Even after all these years of painting, there’s still so much more to learn, so much more to try to master. And if I don’t, it doesn’t really matter, as long as I have fun along the way and make some sweet minis.

So without any further ramble, here’s the Canoness, complete with small display plinth featuring the original artwork.

jb146c-sisters-of-battle
John Blanche’s original masterpiece
img_20161229_153338
My take on the GW miniature
4 thoughts on “Canoness Veridyan (Warhammer 40k – Sisters of Battle) 2017

  1. Pingback: Painting Veridyan Part 1 – A Walkthrough – Illuminator

  2. Pingback: Painting Veridyan – A Walkthrough Part 2 – Illuminator

Leave a Reply

